This guide offers a summary of online resources that are not available in our databases, as well as print materials within the library's collection that are useful for exploring family history and genealogy.
To get started in your search, try these resources first!
Here are additional websites that you might find useful.
Conferences are a great way to connect with other searchers and find information!
Our catalog has many titles you can check out that will help with your research.
Genealogy for Dummies by
The fun way to research your family history Genealogy For Dummies, 8th Edition covers everything you need to know about starting a genealogical research project--including where and how to find information, how to communicate with other online genealogists, how to leverage social networking sites and apps, how to add digital images to your family tree, and how to build your own site for sharing information. It also explains the use of compiled genealogies, U.S. Census information, and public access catalogs. Brand new to this edition is content on how to conduct genealogical research on the road, and on how to take this research and integrate it into the data found at home. It also contains new information on DNA research and testing, new geocoding applications to record geographic data into a genealogical database, and other new technologies. The book covers which apps are worth your money, and how to get the most out of them. Use the latest tools to research family history Create your own site to showcase your family tree, digital images, and compiled genealogies Get access to free versions of Legacy Family Tree and Personal Ancestral Files Utilize both online and offline research techniques and tools Follow the clues to uncover your family's legacy--and have fun along the way!
Unpuzzling Your Past by
The new and expanded fourth edition of this best-selling guide (over 150,000 copies sold ) to genealogy provides readers with the tools and information they need to jump into this great American hobby. Unpuzzling Your Past, 4th edition focuses on fundamental strategies for success, questions to ask, places for research, and interesting examples of each step along the way. Throughout, readers will find techniques and suggestions for: Taping family documents, oral tradition and memories; Exploring the vast array of U.S. public records, from newspapers and tombstones to censuses and land records; Getting the most from names, dates and handwriting of the past; Developing a first-rate and meaningful family history; Well-organized, well-written and comprehensive, this guide offers readers charts, illustrations, reference sidebars, bibliographies, a glossary, and useful, reproducible forms. Each chapter is capped with a list of Things to Do Now to encourage readers or students to apply what they have learned.
Finding Your Family Tree by
Embarking on a quest to uncover your ancestry? Finding Your Family Tree is the perfect genealogy guide to have at your side, with special research techniques for underrepresented groups.
How to Do Everything Genealogy by
An all-new edition of the bestselling guide to tapping the wealth of global digital ancestry records online and in printFully updated and revised, this is the only beginning genealogy book to address the different available record types along with both traditional and electronic research strategies in a comprehensive way. How to Do Everything: Genealogy explores basic rules of genealogical evidence, evaluation of source materials, research methods, and includes extensive guidance on Web-based research.New chapters cover: DNA-based records; using social networking sites to connect with family; and how blogs, podcasts, and videocasts can be effectively used by genealogists. The book has been updated to reflect: new and updated websites; improved strategies for locating, accessing, evaluating, and applying data; and the latest technological details-hardware, software, and other tools.
The Family Tree Problem Solver by
Proven Solutions for Your Research Challenges Has your family history research hit a brick wall?Marsha Hoffman Rising'sbestselling bookThe Family Tree Problem Solverhas the solutions to help you find the answers you seek. Inside you'll find- Work-arounds for lost or destroyed records Techniques for finding ancestors with common names Ideas on how to find vital records before civil registration began Advice for how to interpret and use your DNA results Tips for finding individuals "missing" from censuses Methods for finding ancestors who lived before 1850 Strategies for analyzing your research problem and putting together a practical research plan This revised edition also includes new guides to record hints from companies like AncestryDNA. Plus you'll find a glossary of genealogy terms and case studies that put the book's advice into action.
Genealogist's Guide to Discovering Your Irish Ancestors by
Family genealogists will find easy step-by-step suggestions for determining an Irish ancestor's place of origin, and advice for researching Irish records in America and on the Emerald Isle itself. Readers will find a wealth of information, such as: * the basic strategies of Irish research * working with home sources * accessing, making sense of and working with Irish records inside and outside of Ireland * making the most of Internet resources * using cemetery records, church records, estate records, military records and more! Dwight A. Radford and Kyle J. Betit are widely respected in the field of genealogy as Irish researchers. For the past six years, they have built their reputation through articles in their highly acclaimed journal, the Irish at Home and Abroad, as well as in other genealogical publications. They speak internationally on the subject of Irish research and live in Salt Lake City, Utah.
Tracing Your Irish Family History by
The all-in-one guide to tracing Irish ancestry. A total of 36 million Americans claim Irish ancestry -- more than 10% of the total population and almost nine times the population of Ireland itself. Thousands of Americans travel there in search of their family roots. Tracing Your Irish Family History is an exceptionally useful resource for these data-hungry explorers. In this book, genealogist Anthony Adolph gives insider tips on how best to locate and access specific family information in Ireland, including county archives and libraries, local publications, tax rolls, censuses, religious and civil registers, court and military books, as well as many other more obscure records. He also includes good advice on researching sources in the U.S., Canada, England, Wales, Argentina, Australia and New Zealand. Fortunately the Internet, digitized archives and DNA sampling have made it easier than ever to reconstruct a family tree. Abundant photographs, illustrations and authoritative text tell the compelling story of Irish society and emigration, from the early invasions to the Potato Famine to today's prominent families worldwide. Adolph also explains how critical historical events in Ireland affected how and where its people lived. He gives step-by-step guidance on vital data resources such as Griffith's Valuation and Tithe Applotments, Fiants and Poor Law Records, Irish place names and Anglicization, surname meanings, prominent pedigrees, genetics, ancient Irish roots and heraldry. Tracing Your Irish Family History is the essential research tool that gives an authentic historical perspective on Ireland and the lives of the Irish -- a core reference for researching an Irish family tree.
Understanding DNA Ancestry by
DNA ancestry companies generate revenues in the region of $1bn a year, and the company 23andMe is said to have sold 10 million DNA ancestry kits to date. Although evidently popular, the science behind how DNA ancestry tests work is mystifying and difficult for the general public to interpret and understand. In this accessible and engaging book, Sheldon Krimsky, a leading researcher, investigates the methods that different companies use for DNA ancestry testing. He also discusses what the tests are used for, from their application in criminal investigations to discovering missing relatives. With a lack of transparency from companies in sharing their data, absent validation of methods by independent scientists, and currently no agreed-upon standards of accuracy, this book also examines the ethical issues behind genetic genealogy testing, including concerns surrounding data privacy and security. It demystifies the art and science of DNA ancestry testing for the general reader.
The Art of the Family Tree by
Combines the popular interests of genealogy and bookmaking Researching family history is the second most popular topic on the Internet (after sex). With more than 4 billion records online today and more becoming available everyday, the Internet is fueling the growth of this popular hobby by simplifying the process of finding information and connecting with individuals who share a common branch in their family tree. This unique book combines the general surge of interest in genealogy with the popularity of memory crafts and book and journal making. The projects featured encompass many mixed-media techniques and provide beautiful ideas for creating family trees that will become family heirlooms and keepsakes. Inspiring seasoned journal and memory crafters as well as genealogy buffs, the book divides projects into three styles: family trees designed to be hung as a piece of artwork on a wall, family tree books and journals, and dimensional family trees that take a more sculptural approach. Each project includes clear and concise directions as well as tips about story-telling, information gathering, and sidebars. Full-color templates and clip art for various types of family trees are also included.
Clans and Families of Ireland by
Discusses immigration and emigration in Irish history and their effects on family names, introduces Irish heraldry, and recounts the origins and history of more than two hundred Irish surnames.
Family Tree Guide to DNA Testing and Genet by
Unlock the secrets in your DNA! Discover the answers to your family history mysteries using the most-cutting edge tool available. This plain-English guide is a one-stop resource for how to use DNA testing for genealogy. Inside, you'll find guidance on what DNA tests are available, plus the methodologies and pros and cons of the three major testing companies and advice on choosing the right test to answer your specific genealogy questions. And once you've taken a DNA test, this guide will demystify the often-overwhelming subject and explain how to interpret DNA test results, including how to understand ethnicity estimates and haplogroup designations, navigate suggested cousin matches, and use third-party tools like GEDmatch to further analyze your data. To give you a holistic view of genetic testing for ancestry, the book also discusses the ethics and future of genetic genealogy, as well as how adoptees and others who know little about their ancestry can especially benefit from DNA testing. The book features: Colorful diagrams and expert definitions that explain key DNA terms and concepts such as haplogroups and DNA inheritance patterns Detailed guides to each of the major kinds of DNA tests and which tests can solve which family mysteries, with case studies showing how each can be useful Information about third-party tools you can use to more thoroughly analyze your test results once you've received them Test comparison guides and research forms to help you select the most appropriate DNA test and organize your results and research once you've been tested Whether you've just heard of DNA testing or you've tested at all three major companies, this guide will give you the tools you need to unpuzzle your DNA and discover what it can tell you about your family tree.
A Genealogist's Guide to Discovering Your English Ancestors by
Each ethnic group in America leaves a unique legacy. Distinct historical records, languages and immigration patterns create unique challenges for beginners researching relatives with different origins. The Discovering your Ancestors series provides clear, step-by-step instruction aimed at making this task easier. Each of these books starts by teaching the basics of sound genealogical research, then provides time-saving strategies for researching a particular ethnic group. There are tips on locating records both here and abroad, deciphering original documents, planning a research trip, and putting an ancestor's records in historical context.
Genealogist's Guide to Discovering Your Female Ancestors by
Explains how to uses different sources to trace one's lineage.
In Search of Your European Roots by
This work is designed to guide the reader through the complexities of genealogical research in Europe, whether done in person or by correspondence. It covers the various types of genealogical records available in each country, where they are found and how they are used. Described in detail are the archival resources of each country from the national to the local level; the location of church records and census returns; the systems of civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths; and how to find and use such records as certificates of domicile, orphan lists, emigration registers, guild records, internal passports, confirmation records, and even vaccination lists. Besides the customary revisions and updates, this Third Edition includes--for the first time-- telephone numbers, e-mail addresses, fax numbers, and URLS for most of the major European archives and organizations.
Journeys Home by
Addressing the explosive growth in ancestral travel, this compelling narrative combines intriguing tales of discovery with tips on how to begin your own explorations. Actor and award-winning travel writer Andrew McCarthy's featured story recounts his recent quest to uncover his family's Irish history, while twenty-five other prominent writers tell their own heartfelt stories of connection. Spanning the globe, these stories offer personal takes on journeying home, whether the authors are actively seeking long-lost relatives, meeting up with seldom-seen family members, or perhaps just visiting the old country to get a feel for their roots. Sidebars and a hefty resource section provide tips and recommendations on how to go about your own research, and a foreword by the Genographic Project's Spencer Wells sets the scene. Stunning images, along with family heirlooms, old photos, recipes, and more, round out this unique take on the genealogical research craze.
Official Guide to Ancestry. Com by
Whether you are coming to Ancestry.com for the first time or have used it for years, you need The Official Guide to Ancestry.com. Written by noted genealogist and lecturer George G. Morgan, this official guide takes you inside the #1 website for family history research for an unprecedented tour. This second edition includes chapters on the new search at Ancestry, MyCanvas, and Ancestry DNA. In addition, it helps you create and develop your own Family Tree, explore obscure databases you didn't know existed, and more. You've always known Ancestry.com was a valuable resource. Now you can learn to use it like never before.
On Your Own by
Book discusses in detail, how to design and construct a book for self-publishing, especially aesthetic considerations, graphic design and organization of subject matter. The book shows ways to prepare, repair and enhance documents, and other research materials for publication. The book includes specific examples to illustrate techniques and options.
Plugging into Your Past by
Now every genealogist can unlock the treasure trove of real, digitized records found on the Internet and CD-ROMs. In Log Onto Your Past, Rick Crume gives readers a guided tour of the fast-growing list of resources available right at their fingertips.His friendly and accessible instruction makes it easy for genealogists of all skill levels to coax vital clues about their family history from electronic records and databases. Readers will learn how to quickly locate everything from marriage and census records to family bible pages and tombstone transcriptions.This indispensable reference is packed with tips, tricks and strategies for tapping online genealogy resources. It's the key to finding what you need on the Internet-the most powerful tool in family history research!
Surnames, DNA, and Family History by
This book combines linguistic and historical approaches with the latest techniques of DNA analysis and shows the insights these offer for every kind of genealogical research. It focuses on British names, tracing their origins to different parts of the British Isles and Europe and revealing how names often remain concentrated in the districts where they first became established centuries ago. In the process the book casts fresh light on the ancient peopling of the British Isles. The authors consider why some names die out while others spread across the globe. They use recent advances in DNA testing to investigate whether particular surnames have single, dual, or multiple origins, and to find out if the various forms of a single name have a common origin. They show how information from DNA can be combined with historical evidence and techniques to distinguish between individuals with the same name and different names with similar spellings, and to identifty the name of the same individual or family spelt in various ways in different times and places. The final chapter of this paperback edition, looking at the use of genetics in historical research, has been updated to include new work on the DNA of Richard III.
Tracing Your Irish Ancestors. Fifth Edition by
With its step-by-step instructions in the location and use of traditional genealogical records, its discussion of civil records of birth, marriage, and death as well as land records and wills, and its list of Roman Catholic parish records and source lists, the fifth edition of this definitive Irish genealogy guidebook is easily the most useful book in Irish genealogy.
Tracing Your Scottish Family History by
A thorough guide to researching your Scottish family tree. This year, Scots worldwide will celebrate the Homecoming year to mark the 250th anniversary of the birth of Robert Burns. Amidst this gaiety, many will come to Scotland to reflect on their own family's journey, personally examine Scotland's past and research their family tree. Tracing Your Scottish Family History guides the reader step by step, from "ask your family first" to finding, accessing and understanding obscure local records. Anthony Adolph shares insider tips on how best to search archives, libraries, publications, registers, censuses, tax rolls, debt records, churches, testaments and deeds, and he supplies all relevant contact information. Fortunately the Internet, digitized archives and DNA sampling have made it easier than ever to reconstruct a family tree. This book's abundant archival photographs and illustrations and Adolph's engaging text describe Scottish society in detail, from the early seanachaidh (druids) and chieftains to Viking genetics. Adolph explains how critical historical events affected how and where Scottish people lived, and he gives comprehensive detail on such important topics as naming patterns, clans and tartans, heraldry, parishes, landholders and tacksmen, the Burghs, sasines, farmers and crofters, and Highland and Lowland families. Tracing Your Scottish Family History is a comprehensive research tool and easy-to-use guide that gives an authentic historical perspective of Scotland and the lives of its people -- a core reference for researching a Scottish family tree.
Unofficial Guide to Ancestry. com by
Master the world's #1 Genealogy Website Discover the secrets to Ancestry.com success! This book, newly revised and expanded, will help you get the most out of your Ancestry.com subscription. Inside, you'll discover how to take advantage of what the world's biggest genealogy website has to offer-and how to find answers to your genealogy questions within its billions of records and millions of AncestryDNA profiles. Each chapter includes step-by-step examples with illustrations to show you exactly how to apply search techniques to your genealogy. A new section on AncestryDNA will also help you understand and analyze your DNA test results. What you'll learn- * Timesaving tips for uncovering specific records, time periods and topics using Ancestry.com's search forms and Card Catalog * Details on Ancestry.com's historical record collections, including what you can expect to find in them * Step-by-step guides for creating and managing your family tree on Ancestry.com, plus how to connect with other users and utilize the site's powerful Hint system * Plain-language strategies for using your AncestryDNA results, including guides to your ethnicity report and DNA matches Whether you've just begun dabbling in family history or you're a longtime Ancestry.com subscriber, this book will turn you into an Ancestry.com power user!
Unpuzzling Your Past by
The new and expanded fourth edition of this best-selling guide (over 150,000 copies sold ) to genealogy provides readers with the tools and information they need to jump into this great American hobby. Unpuzzling Your Past, 4th edition focuses on fundamental strategies for success, questions to ask, places for research, and interesting examples of each step along the way. Throughout, readers will find techniques and suggestions for: Taping family documents, oral tradition and memories; Exploring the vast array of U.S. public records, from newspapers and tombstones to censuses and land records; Getting the most from names, dates and handwriting of the past; Developing a first-rate and meaningful family history; Well-organized, well-written and comprehensive, this guide offers readers charts, illustrations, reference sidebars, bibliographies, a glossary, and useful, reproducible forms. Each chapter is capped with a list of Things to Do Now to encourage readers or students to apply what they have learned.
The library also has reference books available for in library use only.
Stop by the Main Library to browse our Genealogy Reference Section.
Pitfalls in Genealogical Research by
Written with both wit and academic integrity, the eminent Mr. Rubincam's monograph is a must-read for all genealogists. This book alerts novices to common mistakes and frauds, and reminds more seasoned researchers what constitutes good genealogy.
Evidence! by
This book provides the family history researcher with a reliable standard for both the correct form of source citation and the sound analysis of evidence. In successful genealogical research, these two practices are inseparable. The book is invaluable for beginners, who want to avoid mistakes in their research, and for advanced researchers, who are seeking guideposts to map their own course precisely.
A Genealogical Register of the First Settlers of New England, 1620-1675 by
This work, based almost exclusively on original records, is a directory of the first settlers of New England. Arranged alphabetically by surnames, the data on each individual includes the date of arrival, place of settlement, dates of birth and death, and some biographical highlights. It is an invaluable treatise on the settlers.
German-English Genealogical Dictionary by
This book is designed for the family researcher who has little or no knowledge of German but who nevertheless needs to make a translation of German-language documents. The dictionary covers thousands of German terms and defines them in single words or brief phrases.
Ancestry's Red Book by
American State, County, and Town Sources Here's the book that will quickly guide you to the most useful genealogical resources in each of the 50 United States and the District of Columbia.Discover where to go to locate the information you need to fill in the gaps in your family tree and avoid the disappointments of endless dead ends.The Red Book lists repositories of information in counties and towns across America. Organized by state, the book easily directs you to information-rich resources in each area including:- Vital Records- Census Records- Background Sources- Maps by William Dollarhide- Land Records- Probate Records- Court Records- Tax Records- Cemetery Records- Church Records- Military Records- Periodicals, Newspapers, and Manuscript Collections- Archives, Libraries, and SocietiesThe result of the collective effort of renowned professional researchers and state archivists, this book sets the standard for resource identification and is a must for anyone serious about tracing their roots.
You can schedule a session with a librarian for up to an hour to assist in utilizing these resources. Fill out the Book A Librarian form.