Skip to Main Content
Career Guides
Compassionate Careers by Jeffrey W. Pryor; Desmond Tutu (Foreword by); Alexandra Mitchell
Many young people today are seeking something more - purpose, meaning, a cause. Compassionate Careers is filled with examples of people who have meaningful jobs in cause-focused organizations. These stories capture their spirit, intelligence, imagination, and heart. The book is an inspirational guide to finding purpose-driven work and offers advice to anyone who feels that sitting on the sidelines is just not enough. It includes: Stories from people of all walks of life who have jobs that make a difference, including Bill Clinton, Jane Goodall, and Dave Matthews. Information on how to get started in a cause-focused career. An online assessment that identifies the type of organizational culture for which you are best suited. Exercises and resources for hands-on exploration of compassionate career opportunities. An old Yaqui Indian proverb reads, "If you have a choice of paths to take in life, take the path with a heart." Compassionate Careers will show you how.
ISBN: 9781601633590
Publication Date: 2015
The Introvert's Complete Career Guide by Jane Finkle
What do Elon Musk, Warren Buffet, Marissa Mayer, and Bill Gates all have in common outside of being wildly successful? They are all introverts. In today's fast-paced, unstable workplace achieving success requires speaking up, promoting oneself and one's ideas, and taking initiative. Extroverts, fearless in tooting their own horns, naturally thrive in this environment, but introverts often stumble. If you question your ability to perform and succeed in this extroverted work culture, The Introvert's Complete Career Guide is custom fit for you. In this supportive, all-inclusive handbook, Jane Finkle demonstrates how to use your introverted qualities to their best advantage, then add a sprinkling of extraverted skills to round out a forceful combination for ultimate career success. Finkle shares the keys to navigating each stage of professional development - from self-assessment and job searching, to survival in a new position and career advancement. In The Introvert's Complete Career Guide you will learn to: Build confidence by evaluating your values, personality style, interests, and achievements Write the story of your career in resume and LinkedIn formats Use social media at your own comfort level to promote your career and expand your network Express yourself clearly and confidently in network meetings, interviews, and workplace situations Build strong professional relationships with colleagues and senior leaders Overcome fears that prevent you from embracing new challenges Equally applicable to the real or virtual workplace, The Introvert's Complete Career Guide provides strategies, tools, and success stories that win you the professional respect and recognition you deserve.
ISBN: 9781632651310
Publication Date: 2019
Top 100 Health-Care Careers by Saul Wischnitzer; Edith Wischnitzer
Health care careers are booming, and Top 100 Health-Care Careers helps those interested in a health-care career sort through the myriad options . Providing details of 100 health-care jobs, Top 100 Health- Care Careers includes information about the educational requirements, earnings, advancement opportunities, certification required and outlook of each. Also features a directory of thousands of training and education programs; guidance on common admissions tests; information on financial aid; job search tips; and sample resumes and covers. Truly a complete guide to health-care careers!
ISBN: 9781593578091
Publication Date: 2010
Job Skills
Excel Formulas and Functions for Dummies by Ken Bluttman
Put the power of Excel functions to work in your formulas There are more than 400 built-in functions in Excel 2019, from AGGREGATE to Z.TEST. The question is which ones will make your work easier? How and why should you use a particular function in your formulas? Excel Formulas and Functions For Dummies offers thorough but easy-to-read coverage of powerful Excel functions. With this book, you'll learn to apply the power of Excel functions and formulas to make your work and other tasks easier. Compare 15-year vs. 30-year mortgage terms, choose between leasing or buying a car, compute classroom grades, create an amortization table, evaluate investment performance, calculate the real cost of credit card purchases, or forecast college expenses and savings. All of this and more is possible when you master functions and formulas in Excel. Although it covers the latest software version, Excel 2019, the techniques and functions described in this book can be used on any version of Excel. Step-by-step instruction on Excel's 150 most useful functions Each function is illustrated by helpful, real-world examples 85 specialized functions are described in abbreviated form Includes Excel's must-know functions This book is a must-read for beginning to intermediate Excel users who want to find out how to use Excel's powerful built-in functions.
ISBN: 9781119518259
Publication Date: 2018
Graphic Design for Everyone by Cath Caldwell
Transform your ideas into powerful visuals--to connect with your audience, define your brand, and take your project to the next level. This highly practical design book takes you through the building blocks of design--type, photography, illustration, color--and shows you how to combine these tools to create visuals that inform, influence, and enthral. Grasp the key principles through in-depth how-to articles, hands-on workshops, and inspirational galleries of great design. Find out how to create a brand plan, discover how a typeface sets the mood, and learn how to organize different elements of a layout to boost the impact and meaning of your message. Then apply your skills to do it yourself, with ten step-by-step projects to help you create your own stunning designs--including business stationery, invitations, sales brochure, website, online newsletter and e-shop. There's also plenty of practical advice on publishing online, dealing with printers, commissioning professionals, finding free design tools, and much more. If you're ready to use powerful design to take your pet project or burgeoning business to the next level, Graphic Design for Everyone is your one-stop resource to help you become an effective, inspirational visual communicator.
ISBN: 9781465481801
Publication Date: 2019
Word 2019 by Dan Gookin
The bestselling beginner's guide to Microsoft Word Whether you've used older versions of this popular program or have never processed a single word, this hands-on guide gets you going with the latest version of Microsoft Word. In no time, you'll begin editing, formatting, proofing, and dressing up your Word documents like a pro. In this leading book about the world's number one word processing application, Dan Gookin talks about using Microsoft Word in friendly, easy-to-follow terms. Focusing on the needs of the beginning Word user, it provides everything you need to know about Word--without any painful jargon. Covers the new and improved features found in the latest version of Word Create your own templates Explains why you can't always trust the spell checker Offers little-known keyboard shortcuts If you're new to Word and want to spend more time on your actual work rather than figuring out how to make it work for you, this new edition of Word X For Dummies has you covered.
ISBN: 9781119514060
Publication Date: 2018
Job Searching
50 Ways to Get a Job by Dev Aujla; Karim Jandev Aujla; Lodro Rinzler (Foreword by)
In today's endlessly fluctuating job market, it's becoming more and more difficult to get hired. 50 Ways to Get a Jobaims to fix that. Job search expert Dev Aujla created 50WaysToGetAJob.com as a way to offer practical, tangible steps to finding (and getting) the right job for you. Within only a few months, over 400,000 people used the site, and Aujla was able to gather data from thousands of individual job searches. In this cleverly constructed guide, Aujla presents the tried-and-tested steps to not only getting hired, but also the secrets to staying motivated and energized throughout the job hunting process. Filled with practical quick-step exercises, this book is designed so you can pick your path through the process, starting where it feels the most natural- - Feeling stuck? Start by sending a "looking for a job" email to five close friends. - Not sure what sort of job you want? Write some creative nonfiction about yourself. - Feeling overwhelmed? Learn the benefits of forty-five minutes of unplugged bliss. - Going on an interview? Practice with a conversation guide. Whether you've just decided to start the hunt or you're gearing up for a big interview, 50 Ways to Get a Jobwill keep you poised, on-track, and motivated right up to landing your dream career.
ISBN: 9780143131533
Publication Date: 2018
Getting Your First Job for Dummies by Roberto Angulo; Bill McCann
Find'and land'your first job! Finding a job can seem daunting, especially when it's a brand new experience. There's a lot to know, and often a lot of pressure. Written by the founder of AfterCollege.com, Getting Your First Job For Dummies is designed to take the stress out of the job search process and help you get an offer. In this book, you'll discover how to identify your talents and strengths, use your network to your advantage, interview with confidence, and evaluate an offer. Written in plain English and packed with step-by-step instructions, it'll have you writing customized resumes, conducting company research, and utilizing online job search sites, faster than you can say 'I got the job!' Determine what kind of job suits your interests and skills Write a compelling cover letter Know what to expect in an interview Effectively negotiate an offer Whether you're still in school or navigating the world as a recent graduate, Getting Your First Job For Dummies arms you with the skills and confidence to make getting your first job an exciting and enjoyable process.
ISBN: 9781119431466
Publication Date: 2017
The Panic Free Job Search by Paul Hill
Job seekers are frustrated. Online job applications through job boards and employer sites are leading to dead ends. Why? Employers are closing the last chapter on the online application playbook. Inundated by online applications and hampered by computer systems that are unable to select viable candidates from the masses of applicants, employers are now using innovative strategies to recruit and screen candidates online. Advances in technology make the way jobs are found and filled online distinctly different from just a few years ago. Employers are scanning the Web using advanced tools to capture signals from LinkedIn, Facebook, and Twitter, among others, to recruit candidates. Based on leading Internet strategies, The Panic Free Job Search shows you how to get hired: By developing a professional, Web-savvy profile By leveraging the power of LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter, Google+, VisualCV, YouTube, TubeMogul, and even your own Website By sending the right signals through social networking sites By tapping into the hidden job market Don't panic! You can get the job you want, even in this tough economy.
ISBN: 9781601632036
Publication Date: 2012
Resumes & Cover Letters
Gallery of Best Resumes by David F. Noble
Getting more than a moment of attention from potential employers isn't easy in today's job market. Not only are job seekers competing with a pool of other candidates, they're also up against resume screening software. Overcoming these obstacles is essential, and Gallery of Best Resumes helps job seekers do that and much more. This book showcases the very best resume samples, selected from thousands of submissions developed by professional resume writers throughout the U.S. These powerful resumes cover jobs from all occupational groups at all levels. In addition, the author provides a wealth of guidance on writing, designing, and using resumes and cover letters to get more immediate results in the job search. New content for this edition includes updated sample resumes and more coverage of electronic resumes including samples and tips for creating and formatting them.
ISBN: 9781593578589
Publication Date: 2011
Cover Letters by Martin Yate
Great strategies for writing killer cover letters! At a time when every job seeker needs an edge, Martin Yate, CPC, shows you how to dramatically increase your chances of landing an interview with a dynamic cover letter. Using his 25+ years of experience, he has built a practical, easy-to-follow approach to creating every type of letter you will use in a job search. Inside this book, you'll find all-new examples of cover letters and learn how to use his proven methods to: Determine the relevant keywords that will send your application to the top of database searches Effectively display your personal brand and the transferable skills you bring to a job Conduct a simple web search to find contact information and get your material in front of managers and recruiters Figure out when you should mail a hard copy of your application to the recruiter instead of sending an e-mail With Knock 'em Dead Cover Letters, 11th Edition, you will grab employers' attention--and score the job you want!
ISBN: 9781440579066
Publication Date: 2014
Resumes by Laura DeCarlo
Polish up that old resume--and land your dream job We've all been there: it's time to apply for a job or internship and you have to create or revise your resume. Many questions pop in your head. What do employers want? What skills should I highlight? How do I format this? How do I get noticed? But resume writing doesn't have to be a daunting task. The latest edition of Resumes For Dummies answers all of these questions and more--whether you're a resume rookie, looking for new tips, or want to create that eye-catching winning resume. In this trusted guide, Laura DeCarlo decodes the modern culture of resume writing and offers you insider tips on all the best practices that'll make your skills shine and your resume pop. Let's start writing! Write effective resumes that will stand out in a crowd Understand Applicant Tracking Systems and how to adapt your resume Keep your resume up with the current culture Position a layoff or other career change and challenge with a positive spin Leverage tips and tricks that give your resume visual power In order to put your best foot forward and stand out in a pile of papers, it's important to have an excellent and effective resume--and now you can.
ISBN: 9781119539285
Publication Date: 2019
Compassionate Careers by
Many young people today are seeking something more - purpose, meaning, a cause. Compassionate Careers is filled with examples of people who have meaningful jobs in cause-focused organizations. These stories capture their spirit, intelligence, imagination, and heart. The book is an inspirational guide to finding purpose-driven work and offers advice to anyone who feels that sitting on the sidelines is just not enough. It includes: Stories from people of all walks of life who have jobs that make a difference, including Bill Clinton, Jane Goodall, and Dave Matthews. Information on how to get started in a cause-focused career. An online assessment that identifies the type of organizational culture for which you are best suited. Exercises and resources for hands-on exploration of compassionate career opportunities. An old Yaqui Indian proverb reads, "If you have a choice of paths to take in life, take the path with a heart." Compassionate Careers will show you how.
The Introvert's Complete Career Guide by
What do Elon Musk, Warren Buffet, Marissa Mayer, and Bill Gates all have in common outside of being wildly successful? They are all introverts. In today's fast-paced, unstable workplace achieving success requires speaking up, promoting oneself and one's ideas, and taking initiative. Extroverts, fearless in tooting their own horns, naturally thrive in this environment, but introverts often stumble. If you question your ability to perform and succeed in this extroverted work culture, The Introvert's Complete Career Guide is custom fit for you. In this supportive, all-inclusive handbook, Jane Finkle demonstrates how to use your introverted qualities to their best advantage, then add a sprinkling of extraverted skills to round out a forceful combination for ultimate career success. Finkle shares the keys to navigating each stage of professional development - from self-assessment and job searching, to survival in a new position and career advancement. In The Introvert's Complete Career Guide you will learn to: Build confidence by evaluating your values, personality style, interests, and achievements Write the story of your career in resume and LinkedIn formats Use social media at your own comfort level to promote your career and expand your network Express yourself clearly and confidently in network meetings, interviews, and workplace situations Build strong professional relationships with colleagues and senior leaders Overcome fears that prevent you from embracing new challenges Equally applicable to the real or virtual workplace, The Introvert's Complete Career Guide provides strategies, tools, and success stories that win you the professional respect and recognition you deserve.
Top 100 Health-Care Careers by
Health care careers are booming, and Top 100 Health-Care Careers helps those interested in a health-care career sort through the myriad options . Providing details of 100 health-care jobs, Top 100 Health- Care Careers includes information about the educational requirements, earnings, advancement opportunities, certification required and outlook of each. Also features a directory of thousands of training and education programs; guidance on common admissions tests; information on financial aid; job search tips; and sample resumes and covers. Truly a complete guide to health-care careers!
Excel Formulas and Functions for Dummies by
Put the power of Excel functions to work in your formulas There are more than 400 built-in functions in Excel 2019, from AGGREGATE to Z.TEST. The question is which ones will make your work easier? How and why should you use a particular function in your formulas? Excel Formulas and Functions For Dummies offers thorough but easy-to-read coverage of powerful Excel functions. With this book, you'll learn to apply the power of Excel functions and formulas to make your work and other tasks easier. Compare 15-year vs. 30-year mortgage terms, choose between leasing or buying a car, compute classroom grades, create an amortization table, evaluate investment performance, calculate the real cost of credit card purchases, or forecast college expenses and savings. All of this and more is possible when you master functions and formulas in Excel. Although it covers the latest software version, Excel 2019, the techniques and functions described in this book can be used on any version of Excel. Step-by-step instruction on Excel's 150 most useful functions Each function is illustrated by helpful, real-world examples 85 specialized functions are described in abbreviated form Includes Excel's must-know functions This book is a must-read for beginning to intermediate Excel users who want to find out how to use Excel's powerful built-in functions.
Graphic Design for Everyone by
Transform your ideas into powerful visuals--to connect with your audience, define your brand, and take your project to the next level. This highly practical design book takes you through the building blocks of design--type, photography, illustration, color--and shows you how to combine these tools to create visuals that inform, influence, and enthral. Grasp the key principles through in-depth how-to articles, hands-on workshops, and inspirational galleries of great design. Find out how to create a brand plan, discover how a typeface sets the mood, and learn how to organize different elements of a layout to boost the impact and meaning of your message. Then apply your skills to do it yourself, with ten step-by-step projects to help you create your own stunning designs--including business stationery, invitations, sales brochure, website, online newsletter and e-shop. There's also plenty of practical advice on publishing online, dealing with printers, commissioning professionals, finding free design tools, and much more. If you're ready to use powerful design to take your pet project or burgeoning business to the next level, Graphic Design for Everyone is your one-stop resource to help you become an effective, inspirational visual communicator.
Word 2019 by
The bestselling beginner's guide to Microsoft Word Whether you've used older versions of this popular program or have never processed a single word, this hands-on guide gets you going with the latest version of Microsoft Word. In no time, you'll begin editing, formatting, proofing, and dressing up your Word documents like a pro. In this leading book about the world's number one word processing application, Dan Gookin talks about using Microsoft Word in friendly, easy-to-follow terms. Focusing on the needs of the beginning Word user, it provides everything you need to know about Word--without any painful jargon. Covers the new and improved features found in the latest version of Word Create your own templates Explains why you can't always trust the spell checker Offers little-known keyboard shortcuts If you're new to Word and want to spend more time on your actual work rather than figuring out how to make it work for you, this new edition of Word X For Dummies has you covered.
50 Ways to Get a Job by
In today's endlessly fluctuating job market, it's becoming more and more difficult to get hired. 50 Ways to Get a Jobaims to fix that. Job search expert Dev Aujla created 50WaysToGetAJob.com as a way to offer practical, tangible steps to finding (and getting) the right job for you. Within only a few months, over 400,000 people used the site, and Aujla was able to gather data from thousands of individual job searches. In this cleverly constructed guide, Aujla presents the tried-and-tested steps to not only getting hired, but also the secrets to staying motivated and energized throughout the job hunting process. Filled with practical quick-step exercises, this book is designed so you can pick your path through the process, starting where it feels the most natural- - Feeling stuck? Start by sending a "looking for a job" email to five close friends. - Not sure what sort of job you want? Write some creative nonfiction about yourself. - Feeling overwhelmed? Learn the benefits of forty-five minutes of unplugged bliss. - Going on an interview? Practice with a conversation guide. Whether you've just decided to start the hunt or you're gearing up for a big interview, 50 Ways to Get a Jobwill keep you poised, on-track, and motivated right up to landing your dream career.
Getting Your First Job for Dummies by
Find'and land'your first job! Finding a job can seem daunting, especially when it's a brand new experience. There's a lot to know, and often a lot of pressure. Written by the founder of AfterCollege.com, Getting Your First Job For Dummies is designed to take the stress out of the job search process and help you get an offer. In this book, you'll discover how to identify your talents and strengths, use your network to your advantage, interview with confidence, and evaluate an offer. Written in plain English and packed with step-by-step instructions, it'll have you writing customized resumes, conducting company research, and utilizing online job search sites, faster than you can say 'I got the job!' Determine what kind of job suits your interests and skills Write a compelling cover letter Know what to expect in an interview Effectively negotiate an offer Whether you're still in school or navigating the world as a recent graduate, Getting Your First Job For Dummies arms you with the skills and confidence to make getting your first job an exciting and enjoyable process.
The Panic Free Job Search by
Job seekers are frustrated. Online job applications through job boards and employer sites are leading to dead ends. Why? Employers are closing the last chapter on the online application playbook. Inundated by online applications and hampered by computer systems that are unable to select viable candidates from the masses of applicants, employers are now using innovative strategies to recruit and screen candidates online. Advances in technology make the way jobs are found and filled online distinctly different from just a few years ago. Employers are scanning the Web using advanced tools to capture signals from LinkedIn, Facebook, and Twitter, among others, to recruit candidates. Based on leading Internet strategies, The Panic Free Job Search shows you how to get hired: By developing a professional, Web-savvy profile By leveraging the power of LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter, Google+, VisualCV, YouTube, TubeMogul, and even your own Website By sending the right signals through social networking sites By tapping into the hidden job market Don't panic! You can get the job you want, even in this tough economy.
Gallery of Best Resumes by
Getting more than a moment of attention from potential employers isn't easy in today's job market. Not only are job seekers competing with a pool of other candidates, they're also up against resume screening software. Overcoming these obstacles is essential, and Gallery of Best Resumes helps job seekers do that and much more. This book showcases the very best resume samples, selected from thousands of submissions developed by professional resume writers throughout the U.S. These powerful resumes cover jobs from all occupational groups at all levels. In addition, the author provides a wealth of guidance on writing, designing, and using resumes and cover letters to get more immediate results in the job search. New content for this edition includes updated sample resumes and more coverage of electronic resumes including samples and tips for creating and formatting them.
Cover Letters by
Great strategies for writing killer cover letters! At a time when every job seeker needs an edge, Martin Yate, CPC, shows you how to dramatically increase your chances of landing an interview with a dynamic cover letter. Using his 25+ years of experience, he has built a practical, easy-to-follow approach to creating every type of letter you will use in a job search. Inside this book, you'll find all-new examples of cover letters and learn how to use his proven methods to: Determine the relevant keywords that will send your application to the top of database searches Effectively display your personal brand and the transferable skills you bring to a job Conduct a simple web search to find contact information and get your material in front of managers and recruiters Figure out when you should mail a hard copy of your application to the recruiter instead of sending an e-mail With Knock 'em Dead Cover Letters, 11th Edition, you will grab employers' attention--and score the job you want!
Resumes by
Polish up that old resume--and land your dream job We've all been there: it's time to apply for a job or internship and you have to create or revise your resume. Many questions pop in your head. What do employers want? What skills should I highlight? How do I format this? How do I get noticed? But resume writing doesn't have to be a daunting task. The latest edition of Resumes For Dummies answers all of these questions and more--whether you're a resume rookie, looking for new tips, or want to create that eye-catching winning resume. In this trusted guide, Laura DeCarlo decodes the modern culture of resume writing and offers you insider tips on all the best practices that'll make your skills shine and your resume pop. Let's start writing! Write effective resumes that will stand out in a crowd Understand Applicant Tracking Systems and how to adapt your resume Keep your resume up with the current culture Position a layoff or other career change and challenge with a positive spin Leverage tips and tricks that give your resume visual power In order to put your best foot forward and stand out in a pile of papers, it's important to have an excellent and effective resume--and now you can.