Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

TMLDA 2020 Application

Professional Staff Training

The staff at the New Braunfels Public Library takes part in multiple professional training opportunities through various conferences, webinars, and other trainings specific to the library and information field. NBPL also supports continuing education for all staff. We currently have one staff member attending courses for a library science degree.

Conferences:  This year only a few staff were able to attend an in-person conference (the Public Library Association Annual Conference) before the pandemic. With changes to events, many staff took advantage of virtual conferences such as the Texas Library Association Annual Conference, Texas State and Libraries Archives Commission Conference, Association for Library Service to Children Conference, and more. Under normal circumstances, staff usually attends and presents in-person at multiple conferences which we plan to do once conferences reopen.

Webinars and Online Courses: The NBPL staff is heavily involved in attending webinars for various library specific trainings through organizations including Library Journal, Infopeople, Library Juice Academy, and the American Library Association. Some courses included topics like staff competencies, leadership skills, library best practices, cataloguing, customer service best practices, and more.

City Training: NBPL staff participates in training sessions offered through the City of New Braunfels. There were only a few training opportunities that all library staff were able to participate in this year such as Cyber Security Awareness Training.

New Braunfels Leadership Academy: This was the second year that the City of New Braunfels offered the NB Leadership Academy. Out of a total of 50 applicants from all city staff, only 20 were chosen and the library was proud to have 2 librarians represent the library. The Leadership Academy was put on hold in March 2020 but will resume in 2021 with the same chosen applicants.

Impact Committee: The City of New Braunfels began the Impact Committee this year which has representatives from all city departments to host events to boost employee morale and teach employees about their benefits through the city. The library currently has 1 committee member.

Database Training: Staff utilize Niche Academy to become proficient in basic computer skills and the use of our databases on a regular basis. Managers have the ability to assign certain databases or skills to each employee. Staff are also encouraged to attend webinars specific to our digital resources such as those hosted by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission. These trainings and webinars make our staff consistent in database knowledge to better serve our patrons with reference questions.

The NBPL staff members are highly encouraged to join professional organizations in the library science field. All of our librarians are active members of the Texas Library Association (TLA),  the American Library Association (ALA), and the Public Library Association (PLA).

Staff Conferences and Trainings

This list exhibits a few of the various webinars, conferences, city trainings, etc. that the NBPL staff has participated in for the year 2020. This list is considerably less than previous years due to COVID-19.

Training Date # of Staff Description Location
Cyber Security Training 2/3/2020- 3/1/2020 21 Training through IT Department and KnowB4 on how to avoid ransom ware, phishing, and other suspicious behavior online. New Braunfels, TX
DDC: The Basics 2/18/2020 1 A class on the basics of the Dewey Decimal Classification through Amigos Library Services. Virtual
PLA Annual Conference 2/25/2020- 2/28/2020 4 Key notes and panel sessions covering best practices, studies, and more for public libraries Nashville, TN
Cultivating Protective Factors for Safe Libraries/Communities 3/5/2020 2 Webinar through Webjunction going over topics and practices for safe libraries and resilient communities in response to COVID-19. Virtual
TLA Annual Conference 4/22/2020- 4/24/2020 5 Sessions and programs about issues, best practices, collaborations, and more specific to Texas libraries.  Virtual
Bilingual Storytime at Your Biblioteca 5/4/2020- 5/31/2020 1 A course in how to incorporate bilingual storytimes to your library as well as strategies for activities and participation. Virtual
Digital Equity and Technology Access in Texas Libraries 5/15/2020 1 A webinar covering Texas specific strategies, tools, resources, and examples of how libraries can continue to play an essential role in working towards equitable technology access. Virtual
Exploring STEAM Concepts Through Storytimes 7/5/2020- 8/1/2020 2 4 week course in STEAM programs integrated into storytimes including ways to build on these concepts and how to use books and activities in programming. Virtual
Baker & Taylor Summit 7/28/2020 2 New library resources featured by Baker & Taylor. Virtual
Project Management Introductory Course 8/4/2020- 8/28/2020 1 A 4 week introductory course to Project Management with a certification upon completion. Virtual
TSLAC Virtual Conference 8/6/2020 2 A day long virtual conference regarding the Texas State Library and Archive Commission's latest digital resources and best practices for all other resources. Virtual
ALSC Annual Conference 10/2/2020- 10/3/2020 1 Association for Library Service to Children through ALA conference for library professionals to improve libraries and advance careers. Virtual
CLEL Annual Conference 10/7/2020- 10/8/2020 1 Colorado Libraries for Early Literacy conference which provides workshops, keynotes, and networking for professionals involved in early literacy. Virtual
Dewey Decimal Classification Course 11/2/2020- 11/29/2020 2 A course focusing on learning the structure and notational system of the Dewey Decimal Classification system, 23rd edition, using a combination of print and WebDewey. Virtual